Finger Lickin’ Good

Andrew got me knives for Christmas. They are made of some sort of poly-carbonate-alloy-and-unicorn-tusk combination. They are light and they fit my hands (I find a lot of chefs knives are too big for me). He got them for me because we both love to cook and he knew they would get a lot of use – and they do.

I love them, but was kind of irritated because we had said no presents – which I meant (mostly because I am broke and didn’t want to feel guilty about not getting him stuff). On the other hand we use them all the time.

Tonight we went to a show and got home slightly early and hungry. I pulled some chicken out of the freezer and sliced up an onion for chicken and onions. It was really delicious:

  • 2 Chicken breasts sliced in finger sized strips
  • 1 medium sized onion sliced in finger sized strips
  • 1 red bell pepper sliced in finger sized strips
  • 1 pinky sliced finger tip
  • 2 smushed garlic cloves
  • 1-2 Tbs herbs de provence
  • olive oil
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • sherry
  • salt to taste

Slice the pinky finger tip while slicing the medium onion. Keep calm and have Andrew wrap the tip with gauze and 3 band-aids. Heat the olive oil in the pan on medium heat and sweat the onions. Add some salt and garlic. Add some sherry and let cook down. Have Andrew slice up the red bell peppers because now you are afraid to use the knife. Add the butter. Add chicken. When there is about 3 minutes left for the chicken add the herbs some more salt and the red bell peppers. Serve when finished.

Whoever finds the finger tip in their serving gets to choose tomorrow’s breakfast.

Andrew is going to make me bacon.

Also, I am now a little knife shy, but at least it got my mind off of my pending ACL surgery.

