My Recent Elevator Experience on the Elevators at the Veteran’s Affairs Hospital in Portland

Guy on full elevator at VA: This is my floor. I am the guy back here rolling the big blue bin.

We all made space for him to get off.

Me: That’s my favorite children’s song.

Another guy on elevator: Rolling the Big Blue Bin?

Me: Yeah.

Him: How’s it go.

Me: (Singing improvised children’s song Rolling the Big Blue Bin)

Him: (laughing and getting off elevator) That was fantastic you made my day.

Doors of elevators close.

Another guy on elevator: Wow! I didn’t realize that was a real song.

Me: It wasn’t I made it up.

Him: Oh. Really? Oh! Wow! That’s amazing!

Me: Thanks.

I exit elevator and realize I was on the wrong floor. I needed floor 4 not 8. Beaming I get on down elevator and hold door open for slow couple.

Me: (still super smile) What floor.

Her: 2

After about a minute

Her: You know, Jesus loves you.

Me: That’s awfully nice of him.

Her: You should find out about it.

Me: I am not really interested, I am into one woman kind of guys.

Her: Oh, OK. Well, he still loves you.

Me: (while exiting elevator) That guy just can’t take no for an answer.

 

I amuse myself.

 

One thought on “My Recent Elevator Experience on the Elevators at the Veteran’s Affairs Hospital in Portland

Leave a Reply

