Cheaters Never Win

Andrew: You really should stop cheating.

Me: I know, and I am sorry, but I love cheating.

Andrew: But it makes you feel bad.

Me: Even when it feels sooooo good.

That was this morning after I was only able to run half of our planned 10-miler because, in homage to Easter my breakfast was trying to rise. I love the slow-carb diet. Not only because I have lost two inches on my waist, and not only because I love the diet food but because I also get to cheat one day a week. So, one day a week I get to eat whatever I want. I of course take this opportunity to eat things that are not only not on the diet, but that are bad for me. It’s as if I believe that because Timothy Ferriss says I can eat anything I want on my cheat day I am suddenly not gluten or lactose intolerant.

Last week I ended up thinking I was coming down with the cold Andrew had because I had a sore throat and a headache. It didn’t dawn on me that it was shortly after I’d eaten a cupcake (until the next morning when I was not actually sick).

This week my stomach has been all kinds of messed up. I couldn’t go do my workout, I couldn’t finish my run, I have had a really rumbly tummy. No gluten. But, I have had a handful of of breve lattes (that’s where the steamed milk is actually half & half).

So next week, when it is cheat day, if I cheat it will likely be with gluten-free, lactose-free items. Well, you know, not including fro-yo…

Leave a Reply

