All Good Things Must Come to an End

I learned many things in Costa Rica. Like how to ditch crazy people in the jungle. How to be the perfect garnish in a monkey drink. And most recently I learned that if Andrew doesn’t sound like he’ll be interested in a specific area of a country we visit, I must 1) plan everything, or 2) not take him there.

Andrew was less than plussed about staying in San José. But, I really wanted to try it out, maybe check out some night life. Thursday night we blogged and afterwards I looked over and Andrew looked like he had been sleeping for an hour already. So we went to bed and planned a run the next morning and a tour of downtown.

All the walking and hill runs we had done in the week had made my right quad a little tight; but, I figured a nice light jog would definitely unstick it and help me heal. Or possibly a 2 mile jog around the park near us would strain my quad so much that walking would be a chore for two days. But, that was super unlikely knowing me.

As I iced my quad after our run, Andrew read up on the downtown area. We walked (I stumbled) to the corner for a cab and went to Mercado Central. This is an indoor mall of food stalls and cheap trinkets until you walk into the center area where all the fresh meat and vegetables are. It’s like a Super Wal-Mart without the blue smocks or geriatric cart handlers.

At first glance I thought this was the seasoning aisle - rosemary, oregano, dried herbs and spices.... But, it turns out the reason food is bland in Costa Rica is because this was the apothecary. I mean, I wouldn't season my chili with Ritalin and Albuterol either.

At first glance I thought this was the seasonings stall – rosemary, oregano, dried herbs and spices…. But, it turns out the reason food is bland in Costa Rica is because this was the apothecary. I mean, I wouldn’t season my chili with Ritalin and Albuterol either.

 

Being that this was our last day in Costa Rica there was no need for us to buy any of these items, and since I hate grocery shopping, there was no real reason for us to stay at the Mercado for very long. So, off we moseyed to the rest of the downtown.

This elaborate building is the post office. Also at the far corner there was Cafe de Correos - the post office cafe. They give you a code then take three days to get your coffee to you - service is slow, but cheap.

This elaborate building is the post office. Also at the far corner there was Cafe de Correos – the post office cafe. They give you a code then take three days to get your coffee to you – service is slow, but cheap.

I also was eager to view the Teatro. Andrew and I had intended to see something there – but the nights we were in San José there was a play showing, and my Spanish wouldn’t have been good enough to have appreciated how much better I could have played the lead role. So we just wandered over during the day to look at it.

The photo I took of the Teatro didn't turn out because the lighting (aka "sun") was in the wrong place and the building came out dark. So instead, here's a picture of a random church we stopped in front of to get saved -from being lost.

The photo I took of the Teatro didn’t turn out because the lighting (aka “sun”) was in the wrong place and the building came out dark. So instead, here’s a picture of a random church we stopped in front of to get saved – from being lost.

After the Teatro, we were near several museums. Andrew asked me which I would like to go to, the gold, the money, the jade, or the art. I told him I could be equally entertained at any of them for the same length of time. He quickly understood that meant I had little to no interest in any of them and agreed.

We opted instead to find a park to sit at and relax. Throughout our walking downtown I did notice that the mannequins in Costa Rica are shaped differently than in the States. Sure, there waists are still too thin and bellies too flat, but they have hips and butts.

The one in the middle (without the head) is the mannequin.

The one in the middle (without the head) is the mannequin.

Andrew had read a lot about San José prior to our going downtown. That meant he was fully prepared to see how not charming it was. The downtown is full of stores and loud people and loud cars. As we walked to the park we would laze at, it became clear to me that the run in the morning had definitely option-2’d its way into my quad. I was having trouble bearing weight on it without pain. We sat on a park bench and I came clean to Andrew. “I need to go home and put ice on my leg. And I need ice cream too.”

A very trafficky cab ride later where I determined that the dotted lines in the road were meant more as a suggestion in Costa Rica, followed by a swing to our local Fresh Market for ice cream, landed me back on the couch and learning to program in Ruby (yes for fun) for the afternoon instead of hanging out. I am glad we got back when we did because we got to see a better show than we would have expected at the Teatro.

Crazy Portland lady was on the phone loudly complaining to the airline that she didn’t understand why they wanted her to pay an extra $500.00 to change her ticket, the nerve! And, also, why was it taking them so long to search for flights anyway – if she had a computer herself she could do it much quicker. Didn’t they know the flight availability and times could be changing as they spoke??? She hung up mad. Then looked at me and my computer.

“Do you get good Internet speed on that?” (translation: I am about to ask to borrow your computer. Also, I think you met my sister the other day when she asked if she could join you and your boyfriend on a romantic walk on the beach?)

“It works for me.” (translation: I will cut a bitch. Or ditch you in the jungle.)

It turns out that not only did Crazy lady not know how airlines work she also didn’t know how reservations at AirBnBs work and had to hastily pack her room up and find somewhere else to stay because she hadn’t let the landlord know she wanted to stay longer than her reservation so he rented her room to someone else.

In this playlet – I could not have played the Crazy lady better than the Crazy lady.

By 4PM I was super antsy so Andrew and I went to the park near us (I hobbled) and watched the Muscovy Ducks clean themselves.

Animals like us. We like them too.

That night we grabbed a light bite at a cafe on the corner and went to bed for early airporting in the morning.

The next morning we got up extra early and headed to the airport. Me for my flight, Andrew for his chance to become thoroughly acquainted with the Costa Rican Airport. I reluctantly paid the $29.00 tax to leave the country because I didn’t think I could convince my boss for very long that I had to work from Costa Rica indefinitely.

I got through security and bought a bottle of water. There was a guitarist playing in the terminal, which was very enjoyable, despite the set list containing, Fire and Rain, and Tears in Heaven. The airport was checking through everyone’s bag as we boarded the flight. They opened the outside zipper pouch of my backpack pulled out my bottled water and said, “No liquids.”

Me: What? I bought that in the airport.

Them: No liquids.

Me: Why? What? Why? (the guy in front of me just carried on FOUR bottles of alcohol which to my knowledge were in liquid form).

Them: Do you want to drink that water?

Me: Yes, I do. It’s why I bought it. To drink. On the plane. During the flight.

Them: Drink it now. No liquids on the flight.

I can only assume it was Frontier’s attempt to charge me $4.00 for a bottle of water. But, I was tired enough to sleep through the flight and I wasn’t going to buy their damn water. I gave the bottle to Andrew – who may have had to use it to shower while sleeping at the airport. I am not sure, you’ll have to read his blog for that.

We flew separate airlines because I have to fly super cheap and he had free miles on American. His flights were a little less reliable in schedule than mine. But, we both flew American Airlines the exact same amount of times on this trip.

To hear more about Andrew’s flight/trip – http://www.andrewberkowitz.com/blog/costa-rica-day-12-and-unexpectedly-day-13/ It’s like a she said/he said.

Leave a Reply

