Snack Attack

About a month ago I accidentally discovered my new favorite snack. Andrew and I both like beets. They take forever to cook though, even though we quarter them (bake with olive oil and salt and some rosemary). So in the interest of saving time, I sliced up about 4 beets put them in the oven and promptly forgot about them until Andrew asked me what was burning (about an hour and a half- I think).

Turns out, what was burning was the ingenious snack of beet chips. I tossed them with a bit of olive oil and salt and we Hoovered them down like Kobiyashi bolting hot dogs on the Fourth of July. I tried making them once again before we left on our cruise but didn’t manage to forget about them in the same way so they were a little soft. I am attempting them again tonight.

Because of my recent stabbing injury – with my middle and ring fingers taped to each other I look like a reverse Vulcan* which is totally appropriate due to my lack of logic – I am a little knife shy and put the mandolin to use . Unfortunately, it slices too thin and we don’t have the right width extension (about 1/8″). While slicing the beets with the butcher knife I thought how bad it would be to cut myself because I wouldn’t be able to tell the difference between blood and beet juice.

On the last beet I found out that was wrong. You can totally tell the difference between blood and beet juice. Not so much in color; beet juice stains, blood runs.

This cut is also on my left hand, just a little nick in my pinkie. In light of this, I have about +3 degree of difficulty in typing and have blog-leveled-up.

I am going to try to make it to the New Year with no more injuries. Wish me luck, a lot can happen in one week.

*Reverse Vulcan also sounds like an incredibly difficult gymnastics move or a sexual position. Wait, I think I just came up with a great game.

Leave a Reply

