A Running Joke

Oops.

I may have just accidentally applied to be a lotto entry in the New York City marathon in November of this year.

I have been wanting to run a marathon for a few years now. Never enough to actually sign up for one. Much less to train for one. To date the longest run I have done was 14 miles – when I paced the first half of the Portland Marathon in 2013. I didn’t train for that one either. And I bonked. Hard. But, not until after I completed my commitment.

So now I am sitting here half hoping to get selected, half hoping to not get selected and all wondering several things:

Marathon questions –

I keep hearing people who train talk about tapering. What is this about? When I trained for my half marathons I just got up to 13.1 and was able to do that all the time. Considering there are people who run ultras and such, shouldn’t I be able to, in theory, just get up to 26.2 and run it every weekend?

I run on New Balance Zeros. Since they are a minimalist shoe do I still need to worry about wear on them and replace them after a certain mileage?

I don’t really eat many carbs, do I need to change that? Are you sure? What kind of nutritional information/science are you basing that on? When am I supposed to eat what? Am I putting too much thought into my diet considering I haven’t even decided how to train for this?

What kind of crazy am I?

There are a kazillion run-training programs out there. Should I use one? Should I use three of them? Is there a training program that includes Crossfit in it, because I don’t want to have to give up one for the other?

How much procrastination is good? Like I know waiting until the last week to train is a bad idea, but somewhere between then and now, when should I start training?

Why do I keep typing marathong instead of marathon? It’s not like I type the word thong all the time. What’s wrong with my typings?

I had to guess my pace for the race. I used a pace calculator. I normally run a 10k at about a 10 minute pace (except when I was running regularly it was more like 9:15) I averaged my pace for the marathon at 12/mile. But that had me coming in at just over 5 hours which seems awfully fast to me. Did I underestimate?

I don’t find out if I got in until 3/3/15. Will I be able to keep my sanity (to the extent I have it) until then?

If I get in will I be able to train up for the marathon with all the above answered (i.e. shoes, food, taper) and be ready for the marathon without having injured myself to the extent of not being able to actually run the thing?

 

If you know any of the answers to these questions, please share them with me!

2 thoughts on “A Running Joke

  1. I run on New Balance Zeros. Since they are a minimalist shoe do I still need to worry about wear on them and replace them after a certain mileage?

    I’d be aware of your mileage and if you’ve run over 400 miles in your shoes, get another pair, or alternate with another pair of shoes. You’ll be able to tell if they’re enough shoe for you on your long runs.

    I don’t really eat many carbs, do I need to change that? Are you sure? What kind of nutritional information/science are you basing that on? When am I supposed to eat what? Am I putting too much thought into my diet considering I haven’t even decided how to train for this?

    I wouldn’t try anything new. If what you’re eating now works for you, stick with it. If you’re worried about fueling during the race, experiment on your long runs with gel or real food (like pretzels).

    What kind of crazy am I?

    The best kind 🙂

    There are a kazillion run-training programs out there. Should I use one? Should I use three of them? Is there a training program that includes Crossfit in it, because I don’t want to have to give up one for the other?

    Hal Higdon has good plans and his Novice 1 has cross training in it. Or, you could see what anyone in your Crossfit class has used for a plan, or it’s probably in the Googlesphere. I would recommend at least 2-3 18-20 mile runs in your training plan. They’re the toughest, but it will really help you feel like you’re ready.

    How much procrastination is good? Like I know waiting until the last week to train is a bad idea, but somewhere between then and now, when should I start training?

    A 12-week program is popular, but if you feel good about your fitness from Crossfit, you could probably get away with a 9 week program. Anything less would be rough for your first marathon.

    Why do I keep typing marathong instead of marathon? It’s not like I type the word thong all the time. What’s wrong with my typings?

    Haha, I did that too.

    I had to guess my pace for the race. I used a pace calculator. I normally run a 10k at about a 10 minute pace (except when I was running regularly it was more like 9:15) I averaged my pace for the marathon at 12/mile. But that had me coming in at just over 5 hours which seems awfully fast to me. Did I underestimate?

    They asked that to figure out what coral you’ll be in for NYC. They won’t yell at you for coming in at a different time. It would stress me out to have a time goal for my first marathon, so I think it would be best to just have a goal of finishing upright and smiling.

    I don’t find out if I got in until 3/3/15. Will I be able to keep my sanity (to the extent I have it) until then?

    There’s always computer solitaire!

    If I get in will I be able to train up for the marathon with all the above answered (i.e. shoes, food, taper) and be ready for the marathon without having injured myself to the extent of not being able to actually run the thing?

    I ran NYC this past year. The crowds are electric. It was an experience like no other. If you get in, do as much as you can to get yourself to the starting line healthy. You can do this! If I can do this, you will rock it because you are way more badass than I am! If you don’t get in, go for the Portland Marathon.

    YOU GOT THIS!

  2. So much good stuff here and wishing you the best. Odds of getting into NYC through the lottery are very long these days. Too many people want to run and more and more spots are given away through other means (basically sold in one way or another to boost revenue). It’s a shot, but a long shot.

Leave a Reply

