The Final Countdown

I made a new best friend in Copenhagen. This is the kind of friend you last minute go to a theme park with, the kind of friend you do a podcast with, the kind of friend you have inside jokes with – like  screaming “cum stain” while riding amusement park rides (you had to be there).

My last day in Copenhagen was lovely. The weather was temperamental as per usual. During the last week I had gotten on a weird sleep schedule due to tummy issues. I wasn’t going to sleep until between 3-6AM in Denmark – or 6-9PM in Portland – which is approximately my bedtime anyway. Once on this schedule, I decided to reinforce it so that the time shift wouldn’t affect me as hard (theoretically) when I got back to Portland. I woke up at 9:30 after just 5 hours of sleep and hit the gym one last time for leg day.

My bags were all packed and my cab ordered for 5AM the next morning. I had nothing to do all day but enjoy myself. I met up with Flaviu at the theater and we did an improv podcast with Jay Sukow and Gordon Torbet. The podcast is called My Improv Affair. I don’t think it is up yet – but keep looking for it.

Then we took off to Tivoli. Tivoli is the second oldest amusement park in the world. It is located basically in the middle of downtown Copenhagen, and somehow – like Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory, is bigger on the inside than on the outside. Going to an amusement park as an adult has its bonuses.

IMG_2809I call this Bonus #1.

IMG_2823

Bonus #2. Also called “Amerikaner” (I can’t imagine why). This is four scoops of ice cream in a waffle cone with a chocolate covered marshmallow, whipped cream and strawberry sauce. I got four different flavors of ice cream and I can’t remember their exact names but the flavors were brown-colored-sugar, white-colored-sugar, tan-colored-sugar-with-golden-honey-sugar-stripes, and just sugar.

Bonus #3 was motion sickness. OK, this is not a fun bonus, per se, but it is an addition that I didn’t experience prior to adulthood. While taking a coffee break at the park (so that my stomach and headache could settle) I read an article that suggested having a dramamine before amusement park riding for adults. Note taken!

Flaviu and I rode a lot of the rides and played the midway games. Apparently, Flaviu used to throw things at people when he was a kid so he has wicked good aim. We won enough coins to get a prize:

IMG_2838We will share custody of C.S. Moois. The first half year will be with me. The second half-year I will have forgotten to send the cow back – just being honest, I’m no good with mail.

I got back to my apartment around 23:30 and read and tried to stay awake as long as I could (about 3 minutes). I set four different alarms – including asking Andrew to text me if he hadn’t heard from me by 4:45.

Everything went well and I got to the airport on time with no issues. No issues until LHR. The plane was broken. They couldn’t fix it. They have to replace it. Flight delayed four hours. I may still make my connection? I’ll get home eventually.

Honestly, it’s a bit of an annoyance – but these things happen and it’s no big deal. My issue with it all is British Airways and their lack of empathy. I know they have a lot of customers to deal with – but that’s what it feels like, like they are dealing with us. Oh well, I got a good airport nap and I have C.S. to keep me company.

To round off this trip, here are pictures of signs that amused me.

 

Leave a comment